Skip to content
SuppCheckrCheck the supplement before you buy.

LMNT vs Liquid I.V.: Electrolyte Labels

LMNT vs Liquid I.V. compared on cited labels: sodium, potassium, magnesium disclosure, sugar, sweeteners, serving format, and dated price per serving.

Last updated: 2026-09-16 · Last reviewed: 2026-09-16

Introduction

LMNT and Liquid I.V. are two widely compared electrolyte drink mixes sold as stick packs. This guide compares publicly available label information — sodium, potassium, magnesium disclosure, sugar, sweeteners, serving format, and dated price per serving — not medical hydration outcomes.

SuppCheckr does not endorse either product for dehydration treatment, hangover-recovery, cramp-prevention, or medical superiority claims. Liquid I.V. Hydration Multiplier is a product/marketing name only — not evidence of superior hydration. LMNT is not better for everyone; high-sodium formulas require individual context and professional guidance when appropriate.

Quick comparison table

Label facts below are for the cited SKUs (Citrus Salt 30-count LMNT; Lemon Lime 16-count Liquid I.V. Hydration Multiplier). Confirm flavor and count before purchase.

FactorLMNT Citrus Salt (30 sticks)Liquid I.V. HM Lemon Lime (16 sticks)
Sodium per serving1,000 mg500 mg
Potassium per serving200 mg370 mg
Magnesium per serving60 mg (disclosed)Not disclosed on cited US Nutrition Facts panel
Total sugars0 g11 g
Calories045
SweetenersStevia leaf extractCane sugar, dextrose; trace rebiana (stevia)
Serving format1 stick pack (~6 g) in 16–32 fl oz water1 stick (16 g) in ~16 fl oz water
Price per serving (2026-07-15)$1.50 ($45.00 ÷ 30)$1.56 ($24.99 ÷ 16)
SuppCheckr score7761

Scores reflect label transparency and sourcing — not personal medical suitability.

Sodium difference

LMNT lists 1,000 mg sodium per stick — roughly double the 500 mg sodium listed on Liquid I.V. Hydration Multiplier Lemon Lime sticks in cited Nutrition Facts.

Sodium is an essential mineral involved in normal body processes, including fluid balance, according to NIH Office of Dietary Supplements materials. High supplemental sodium may be inappropriate for some people, including those managing blood pressure, kidney disease, heart disease, fluid restrictions, or certain medications. LMNT's higher sodium per serving is a label fact, not a universal recommendation.

Sugar, carbs, and calories

LMNT lists 0 g total sugars and 0 calories per stick. Liquid I.V. lists 11 g total sugars and 45 calories per stick, with cane sugar and dextrose in the ingredient list.

Sugar and calorie content are label-comparison fields — not medical judgments about which profile is "healthier" for any individual. Shoppers comparing sugar-free versus sugar-containing electrolyte sticks should read Nutrition Facts panels directly.

Sweetener difference

LMNT is sweetened with stevia leaf extract and lists no added sugars on the cited panel. Liquid I.V. uses cane sugar and dextrose as primary carbohydrates, with rebiana (stevia leaf extract) also listed among ingredients.

Sweetener and sugar profiles affect taste and label reading — not medical outcomes. See our sugar-free vs sugar electrolytes guide for category-level context.

Potassium and magnesium on labels

Liquid I.V. lists more potassium per serving (370 mg) than LMNT (200 mg) on cited Nutrition Facts.

Magnesium: LMNT discloses 60 mg magnesium (as magnesium malate) per stick. Magnesium is not listed on the cited US Nutrition Facts panel for Liquid I.V. Hydration Multiplier Lemon Lime — SuppCheckr documents this as not disclosed, not as zero. Do not assume magnesium content from Liquid I.V. marketing copy alone.

Label clarity and claim-risk differences

Both products disclose core sodium and potassium amounts on cited Nutrition Facts. Differences that affect SuppCheckr scoring and shopper scrutiny include:

  • LMNT: strong dose transparency for sodium, potassium, and magnesium; high-sodium context; keto/fasting brand positioning (mirrored as brand claims only)
  • Liquid I.V.: clear sodium, potassium, and sugar disclosure; magnesium absent from US panel; Hydration Multiplier and faster-hydration marketing — higher claim-risk; SuppCheckr does not endorse hydration outcome claims

Neither product had a verified NSF Certified for Sport or similar program listing matched in the cited review. Thorne Catalyte is the only shortlist product with verified NSF documentation — see the electrolyte supplements comparison for the full five-product table.

Serving format and price per serving

Both are single-serve stick packs mixed into water. LMNT sticks are smaller by weight (~6 g vs 16 g) but list higher sodium per serving.

At the 2026-07-15 manual price check, LMNT Citrus Salt 30-count was $1.50/serving and Liquid I.V. Lemon Lime 16-count was $1.56/serving — similar per-serving cost despite very different sodium and sugar profiles. Retail prices change; verify current price at the retailer before purchase.

Who should be cautious with high-sodium products

According to NIH materials, high sodium intake may be a concern for some people. LMNT's 1,000 mg sodium per stick is materially higher than many daily-hydration formulas (for example, Ultima Replenisher lists 55 mg sodium per stick in the cited product review).

SuppCheckr does not recommend high-sodium or lower-sodium products for any medical condition. People managing blood pressure, kidney disease, heart disease, fluid restrictions, or prescription medications should consult a qualified healthcare professional before using high-sodium electrolyte drink mixes.

When to talk to a healthcare professional

Consult a qualified healthcare professional before starting or changing electrolyte supplements or drink mixes, especially if pregnant, nursing, under 18, taking medication, managing blood pressure, kidney disease, heart disease, fluid restrictions, or a medical condition.

Electrolyte drink mixes are not oral rehydration therapy, IV fluids, or treatment for dehydration, electrolyte imbalance, illness-related fluid loss, heat illness, or hangover recovery.

How SuppCheckr scores them

SuppCheckr product reviews and the comparison table score both products using the electrolytes scoring profile: sodium/potassium/magnesium dose transparency, sugar and sweetener disclosure, label clarity, third-party testing documentation, dated price per serving, formula quality, and claim conservatism.

Published scores for the cited SKUs: LMNT 77, Liquid I.V. 61. Scores are not medical recommendations.

Frequently asked questions

Which has more sodium — LMNT or Liquid I.V.?

On cited Nutrition Facts for the locked SKUs, LMNT lists 1,000 mg sodium per stick; Liquid I.V. lists 500 mg per stick.

Which has more sugar?

Liquid I.V. lists 11 g total sugars per stick; LMNT lists 0 g total sugars per stick on cited materials.

Does Liquid I.V. contain magnesium?

Magnesium is not listed on the cited US Nutrition Facts panel for Hydration Multiplier Lemon Lime sticks. Do not treat absent lines as zero without label confirmation.

Is LMNT better than Liquid I.V.?

Neither is universally better. Labels differ in sodium, potassium, magnesium disclosure, sugar, sweeteners, and marketing claim risk. Compare label facts to your own priorities — not medical outcome promises.

Is Liquid I.V. an ORS or medical treatment product?

No. SuppCheckr compares retail electrolyte drink mixes as labeled products — not clinical oral rehydration therapy.

Which is cheaper per serving?

At the 2026-07-15 cited check, LMNT was $1.50/serving and Liquid I.V. was $1.56/serving. Verify current retailer prices before purchase.

Related reading

Related reading

Sources

  1. LMNT Zero-Sugar Electrolytes — electrolyte amounts (brand product page)LMNT (brand_label)
  2. Liquid I.V. Hydration Multiplier Lemon Lime — Nutrition FactsLiquid I.V. (brand_label)
  3. Sodium — Health Professional Fact SheetNIH Office of Dietary Supplements (NIH)
  4. Potassium — Health Professional Fact SheetNIH Office of Dietary Supplements (NIH)
  5. FDA — Dietary SupplementsU.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
  6. SuppCheckr scoring methodologySuppCheckr (internal_editorial)

Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. SuppCheckr may also earn commissions from qualifying purchases through other affiliate links on this site. Not every outbound retailer link is an affiliate link. Affiliate relationships do not affect SuppCheckr scores, rankings, testing-status notes, or editorial conclusions. Learn more